Buhari Appoints all Former Service Chiefs as Non-career Ambassadors

President Muhammadu Buhari has In an unprecedented manner announced the nomination of all four immediate former service chiefs as non-career ambassadors. Buhari has also sent the names to the Senate for quick confirmation.

The immediate former service chiefs appointed as non-career ambassadors-designate are as follows

General Abayomi Olonisakin (Chief of Defence Staff), Lieutenant General Tukur Buratai (Chief of Army Staff), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Chief of Naval Staff) and Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff) all resigned and retired a week ago.

The announcement was made through the Special Adviser to the President on Media, Femi Adesina on Thursday, February 4, 2021 that Buhari has forwarded the names of all four to the Senate for confirmation.

Former Service Chiefs

The nomination of the four retired service chiefs should call for concern amongst Nigerians who have always clamour for their sack in the latter face of their service years following unabated killings in the country.

Read Also: Buhari-Tinubu Ticket: Nigeria Would Have Broken-Up – Fani-Kayode

Recall Buhari had extended their years in office after the natural expiry of their service, a decision many were displeased by especially in the face of worsening insecurity across the country.

Recently, certain quarters have also called for the prosecution of Buratai for alleged human rights violations that took place across the country during his time as COAS.

Leave a Reply